Donate to Hurricane Recovery

NC Council for Women Advisory Board

Council for Women Commission Members

The Council for Women Advisory Board consists of 20 members appointed by the Governor. The Council has the following functions and duties:

  1. To advise the Governor, the principal State departments, and the State legislature concerning the education and employment of women in the State of North Carolina; and
  2. To advise the Secretary of Administration upon any matters the Secretary may refer to it.

Mission: To achieve equality for all North Carolina women by advocating for education, health and safety, economic security and social justice.

Vision: North Carolina will be the best state for quality of life for women.

Current Initiatives:

Status of Women in North Carolina Report

This report will highlight the progress and obstacles of women and youth in NC, showing the diversity of their experiences across age, racial/ethnical backgrounds, immigrant status, and different regions of the state. The NC Council for Women and Youth Involvement will release the Status of Women as 4 separate reports: Employment & Earnings, Health & Well Being/Demographics, Poverty & Opportunity, and Political Participation.

Meeting Dates

February 15, 2018 - 10:00 a.m.
May 10, 2018 
August 23, 2018
October 18, 2018

Council Members 

Patricia Adams Jenny Black (Chair) Lida Calver-Hayes

Mary Conlon

Debbie Frail Candace Flanagan Andreina C. Hall

Julie Hopfer

Lucy D. Horton Anne Lasley Del Mattioli

Miranda Mills

Crystal Moore Jesssica K. Proctor Annette R. Taylor

Katherine Woodbury

Debbie West 

Dana O'Donovan

Dr. N. Joyce Payne



Meeting Minutes

April 6, 2017 CFW Meeting Minutes Approved
May 10, 2017 CFW Meeting Minutes Approved 
August 17, 2017 CFW Meeting Minutes Approved
October 19, 2017 CFW Meeting Minutes Approved