NC Internship Council

NC Internship Council Members Photo


The North Carolina Internship Council consists of 18 members. The Council meets annually in the fall to determine the appropriateness of state agency intern project proposals, and again in the winter to screen student applications for internships. The Council consists of 18 members, including the Secretary of Administration (or designee), one member designated by and to serve at the pleasure of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, one member to be designated by and to serve at the pleasure of the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the following 15 members to be appointed by the Governor to a two-year term commencing on July 1 of odd-numbered years: two representatives of community colleges; four representatives of the University of North Carolina system; two representatives of private colleges or universities; three representatives of colleges or universities with an enrollment of less than 5,000 students; and three former interns.


Meeting Date 

February 8, 2019 - 10:00 a.m.
September 27, 2019
February 7, 2020
September 25, 2020


Council Members 

Dr. Susan McCracken Cha'seem Anderson Meridith Berson Alan Briggs
Cynthia Frost Elizabeth Goodwin Dr. Bryle Hatch Dr. Monty Hickman
Dr. Patrick Madsen Edwin Moore Timothy Ozment  Melissa Parks
Sec. Machelle Sanders Dr. Ashley Wells  Rep. Donna White Paul Worley
Shawna Young      



Meeting Minutes

February 10, 2017  Internship Council Meeting Minutes Approved
September 15, 2017 Internship Council Meeting Minutes Approved
February 9, 2018 Internship Council Meeting Minutes Approved
September 21, 2018 Internship Council Meeting Minutes Approved
February 8, 2019 Internship Council Meeting Minutes Approved