STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

9:30 AM

January 30, 2018

MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT-Chairman Aaron K Thomas, Raynor Smith, Mike Benson, Matt Messick, Will Johnson, Blair Bordeaux, Kirby Robinson, Roger Woods (teleconference). Susie Lewis (teleconference)

OTHERS PRESENT- Latif Kaid, Ryan Scruggs, Victor Stephenson, Bob Talley, Joanne Kurtz, Durwin Jones, Robert Gron (DPS), Mathew Wells (DPS), Michael Gashaw (DPS), John F. Maddrey(DOA), Peter Veit (DHHS), Mark Bondo (OSBM), Carla Daniels (HUB), Chris Bullard (ABC Carolinas) LeaAnne Hahnel (SCO), Farouk Zaman (SCO), Jamalh Greene (SCO), Tim Hiltbrunner (ACCI),

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ETHICS STATEMENT

> Chairman Aaron Thomas called the meeting to order at 9:30am and read the ethics statement.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (December 12, 2017)

▶ Blair Bordeaux made motion to approve December 12, 2017 minutes. Mike Benson second.

3. ELECTION OF NEW OFFICERS

Nomination Committee Chairman Raynor Smith announced recommendation for the new SBC Chairman. Blair Bordeaux was nominated Chairman and Raynor Smith Vice Chairman. Mike Benson made a motion to approve, Susie Lewis seconded. Blair Bordeaux took his seat as Chairman.

4. SBC/SCO RULES RE-ADOPTION PROCEDURES

➤ Durwin Jones explained the legal process involved. Next step in the re-adoption is for the AG Office to submit the rules for the 60 day public comments. At the April 10th SBC meeting, public comments, if any, will be reviewed after which the rules will be submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearing. **Note:** Only technical changes to the rules may be administered within this procedure. Will Johnson motioned to move forward, Matt Messick second the motion.

5. EMERGENCY DECLARATION LETTERS

Latif Kaid, Director of the State Construction office, shared details about the Emergency Declaration letter submitted.

Department of Administration Emergency Project – Museum of History Northwest Stairwell Sprinkler Line Break Raleigh, NC

6. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Administration

State Capitol Building Improvements

Raleigh, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Joseph K. Oppermann Architect, P.A. (Winston Salem, NC)
- 2. Kirwan Architecture, PLLC (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. David E. Gall, Architect, P.A. (Winston Salem)

Motion by Susie Lewis to approve the Committee's recommendations, Mike Benson second.

The selection was approved as recommended

7. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Health and Human Services

Caswell Developmental Center

Steam & Condensate Piping Replacement

Kinston, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Spring Stoops McCullen Engineering, PA (Durham, NC)
- 2. Progressive Design Collaborative, Ltd. (Raleigh, NC)

Motion by Aaron K. Thomas to approve the Committee's recommendations, Roger Woods second.

The selection was approved as recommended

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

8. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

NC Forest Service Mountain Island Educational State Forest Welcome Center Stanley, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Clark Patterson Lee, P.C. (Charlotte, NC)
- 2. Neighboring Concepts, PLLC (Charlotte, NC)
- 3. Mathews Architecture, P.A. (Asheville, NC)

Motion by Mike Benson to approve the Committee's recommendations, Kirby Robinson second.

The selection was approved as recommended

9. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Public Safety

Central Prison, Unit Seven Phase B Renovation

Raleigh, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Little Diversified Architectural Consulting, Inc. (Durham, NC)
- 2. Moseley Architects of North Carolina, P.C. (Charlotte, NC)
- 3. MHAworks, PA (Durham, NC)

Motion by Kirby Robinson to approve the Committee's recommendations, Aaron K. Thomas second.

The selection was approved as recommended

10. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Public Safety

Youth Development Center

Rockingham County, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Moseley Architects of North Carolina, P.C. (Charlotte, NC)
- 2. O'Brien / Atkins Associates, P.A. (Durham, NC)
- 3. ADW Architects, P.A. (Charlotte, NC)

Motion by Roger Woods to approve the Committee's recommendations, Susie Lewis second.

The selection was approved as recommended

11. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Transportation

Lee County Resident Engineer's Office

Sanford, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Caidus Design, PLLC (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. Clark Patterson Lee, P.C. (Charlotte, NC)
- 3. Boomerang Design, P.A. (Charlotte, NC)

Motion by Raynor Smith to approve the Committee's recommendations, Matt Messick second.

The selection was approved as recommended

12. UNC SYSTEM DESIGNER SELECTIONS REPORTED JANUARY TO DECEMBER 2017

Latif Kaid provided brief explanation of the report.

13. OLD BUSINESS

Latif Kaid mentioned SBC members will be registered for the conference. 3 recommendations for merit awards are needed.

➤ 2018 SCO Conference Agenda (Draft)

14. NEW BUSINESS

- ➤ General Conditions Technical Revisions (OC-15 & OC-15CM)
- Design Build General Conditions: UNC-Chapel Hill Project: Dry Sorbent Injection System

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

15. STATE CONSTRUCTION OFFICE REPORT

Latif Kaid shared workload remains heavy at this time. Victor Stephenson provided brief FCAP report.

16. SCHEDULE NEXT MEETINGS

February 27, 2018, April 10, 2018 (No SBC meeting in March due to SCO Conference)

17. ADJOURNMENT

Mike Benson made a motion to adjourn; Aaron K. Thomas second. Chairman Blair Bordeaux adjourned the meeting at 10:30am.