Frequently Asked Questions

Scroll down to see Motor Fleet Management's frequently asked questions for the following subjects: 

  • 2018 Motor Fleet Rate Changes Effective Jan. 1, 2018
  • Agency Fleet Coordinator
  • Exemption Process
  • Minimum Mileage Requirements
  • Rental Vehicles
  • Vehicle Breakdown / Replacements

2018 Motor Fleet Rate Changes Effective Jan. 1, 2018

Why are the rates changing?

Why are the rates changing?

The rates are changing to better allocate fleet cost amongst our fleet customers. The rates ensure that agencies that are improving their fleet operational efficiencies realize the financial benefits of their efforts. A flat monthly rate ensures that Motor Fleet is able to consistently meet its replacement schedule.

When do these changes go into effect?

When do these changes go into effect?

The new rates go into effect on January 1, 2018. The first “new” invoice will be sent on February 20, 2018.

What does the rate include?

What does the rate include?

The rate includes vehicle depreciation, maintenance, insurance, telematics, and administrative expenses. There is a flat lease payment by vehicle class that covers the first 1050 miles of operation for a vehicle (except for fuel). Any miles traveled over 1050 in a month, a charged a per mile rate (not including fuel).

Why is fuel a separate expense?

Why is fuel a separate expense?

Fuel is the second largest fleet expense. Having fuel as a separate charge ensures that agencies are aware of the fuel expenses and fully realize the benefits of using less fuel.

What is my rate?

What is my rate?

Please refer to the rate chart below:

Vehicle Rate Chart
Vehicle Class Vehicle Example Base Monthly Lease Fee Per Mile Rate (Over 1050 Miles)
Sedan - Compact - Electric Focus Electric, Leaf $192.00 $0.24
Sedan - Compact - Hybrid Civic Hybrid, Camry Hybrid, CMAX Hybrid, Prius $213.00 $0.26
Sedan - Compact Focus $181.50 $0.23
Sedan - Mid Size Avenger, Breeze, Fusion, Grand Prix, Malibu, Stratus $213.00 $0.26
Sedan - Fullsize Camry, Crown Victoria, Impala, LaCrosse, Taurus $223.50 $0.27
Sedan - Fullsize - Law Enforcement Police Interceptor, Crown Victoria, Caprice, Impala LE $360.00 $0.40
Sedan - Fullsize - Law Enforcement - Charger Charger LE $297.00 $0.34
Pickup - Light Duty Frontier, F-150, Ram 1500, Ranger, Silverado 1500 $318.00 $0.36
Pickup - Light Duty - Law Enforcement F-150 LE $360.00 $0.40
Pickup - Medium Duty F-250 $496.50 $0.53 
Pickup - Heavy Duty F-350 $601.50  $0.63
Cab and Chasis - 19,500 F-550 $738.00 $0.76
Cab and Chasis - 25,500 Chevrolet C6500, Freightliner M2 106, F-650 $822.00 $0.84
SUV - Compact Escape Hybrid, Journey, Liberty $265.50 $0.31
SUV - Midsize Equinox, Explorer, Grand Cherokee, Pathfinder $360.00 $0.40
SUV - Fullsize Durango, Expedition, Tahoe $454.50 $0.49
SUV - Extra Large Suburban $570.00 $0.60
SUV - Midsize - Law Enforcement Police Interceptor Utility $402.00 $0.44
SUV - Fullsize - Law Enforcement Durango SSV, Expedition SSV, Tahoe LE & SSV $423.00 $0.46
Van - Compact - High Roof - Cargo Caravan Cargo, NV200, Ram Cargo $276.00 $0.32
Van - Compact - High Roof - Passenger Caravan, Freestar, Taurus Wagon, Uplander $307.50 $0.35
Van - Light Duty - Cargo Transit Wagon $318.00  $0.36 
Van - Light Duty - Passenger Transit Wagon $318.00  $0.36 
Van - Medium Duty - Cargo Express 1500, Express 2500, E-250, Transit 250 $318.00 $0.36
Van - Medium Duty - Mobility Transit XL $465.00 $0.50
Van - Heavy Duty - Cargo E-350, Transit 350 $328.50 $0.37
Van - Heavy Duty - Passenger Transit 350, 3500 15 Passenger $349.50 $0.39
Can I trade in my larger vehicle for a smaller one to lower my rate?

Can I trade in my larger vehicle for a smaller one to lower my rate?

Absolutely. Contact your vehicle coordinator for more information. If you do not know your vehicle coordinator, email the Vehicle Assignment service account at: vehicle.assignment@doa.nc.gov.

Agency Fleet Coordinator

Who should serve as an Agency Fleet Coordinator?

Who should serve as an Agency Fleet Coordinator?

MFM recognizes that the mission and needs of agencies vary considerably. As such, the Department Head will assign an Agency Fleet Coordinator (and a secondary approved contact) to best suit the needs of that particular agency. The other job duties of these individuals may vary from one agency to another.

Does an Agency Fleet Coordinator have the authority to handle vehicle transfers within an agency to ensure minimum mileage requirements are met?

Does an Agency Fleet Coordinator have the authority to handle vehicle transfers within an agency to ensure minimum mileage requirements are met?

Yes, the Agency Fleet Coordinator will be authorized by the Department Head to initiate review, make recommendations and manage internal reallocation of vehicles to meet program requirements and achieve better utilization. As always, an Individual or Agency Permanent Assignment of Vehicle, FM-30 form must be completed and submitted to Motor Fleet Management to ensure our records are current and to confirm that this was an authorized agency action. Updated forms should be submitted to MFM within five business days of an internal vehicle transfer.

Does the Agency Fleet Coordinator need to submit a separate FM-30 for each agency-assigned vehicle that is reassigned? What if we only need to update a phone number?

Does the Agency Fleet Coordinator need to submit a separate FM-30 for each agency-assigned vehicle that is reassigned? What if we only need to update a phone number?

Yes, an FM-30 must be submitted per vehicle and within five business days any time an agency vehicle has been reassigned. You cannot submit a "blanket"form to cover multiple vehicle reassignments. If you need to update something that does not change vehicle assignment, such as correcting a phone number, you may do so by contacting Teresa Powell at 919-733-6540.

What other tasks will become the responsibility of the Agency Fleet Coordinator?

What other tasks will become the responsibility of the Agency Fleet Coordinator?

The Agency Fleet Coordinator will be authorized by the Agency Head to:

  • Submit requests for Applications for Permanent Assignment of Passenger Vehicles (FM-30), including verification of drivers license status, and with the additional approval by the Chief Fiscal Officer as an added precaution for budgetary reasons 
  • Obtain monthly mileage reports located on the MFM system
  • Ensure monthly mileage reports are submitted from individuals and the agency in a timely manner
  • Ensure return of vehicles in a timely manner when requested by MFM
  • Review quarterly Minimum Mileage Reports
Who is my Agency Fleet Coordintor?

Who is my Agency Fleet Coordintor?

Department Fleet Coordinator Phone Number Email
Administration Construction, Department of Ryan Strickland 919-807-4136 ryan.strickland@doa.nc.gov
Administration Indian Affairs, Department of Gregory Richardson 919-807-4440 greg.richardson@doa.nc.gov
Administration Mail Service Center, Department of Kenny Myatt 919-733-2913 kenny.myatt@doa.nc.gov
Administration NC Council for Women, Department of Bernetta Thigpen 336-288-8650 bernetta.thigpen@doa.nc.gov
Administration Office of State Personnel Emilia Guerrero 919-807-4841 Emilia.Guerrero@nc.gov
Administrative Hearings, Office of Arthur Harrell 984-236-1854 arthur.harrell@oah.nc.gov
Administrative Office of the Courts Amy Ferrell 919-890-1660 amy.m.ferrell@nccourts.org
Agriculture, Department of Penny Vosburg 919-707-3031 penny.vosburg@ncagr.gov
Board of Barber Examiners Dennis Seavers 919-814-6041 dennis.seavers@nc.gov
Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners Terri Griffin 919-710-3911 tgriffin@nccosmeticarts.com
Commerce, Department of Heather Horton 919-814-4632 heather.horton@nccommerce.com
Cultural Resources, Department of Nanette Nicholson 919-814-6751 nanette.nicholson@ncdcr.gov
DMV - License & Theft Gary Devane 919-814-6282 gedevane@ncdot.gov
Education Lottery Commission Randall Keen 919-301-3351 rkeen@lotterync.net
Environmental Quality, Department of Mary Deans 919-707-8617 mary.deans@ncdenr.gov
General Assembly Chase Honeycutt 919-733-4292 chase.honeycutt@ncleg.net
Health & Human Services, Department of Drew Middleton 919-855-4874 drew.middleton@dhhs.nc.gov
Information Technology, Department of Carole Chalifour 919-754-6332 carole.chalifour@nc.gov
Insurance, Department of Doug Lyons 919-807-6033 doug.lyons@ncdoi.gov
Justice, Department of Matt Longobardi 919-716-6077 mlongobardi@ncdoj.gov
Labor, Department of Jennifer Stackpole 919-707-7740 jennifer.stackpole@labor.nc.gov
Office of the Governor      
Ports Authority, NC State Tricia Hamric 910-746-6387 tricia.hamric@ncports.com
Ports Authority, NC State Police Ethan Hazard 252-515-5207 ethan.hazard@ncports.com
Public Instruction, Department of Pam Winstead 984-236-2370 pam.winstead@dpi.nc.gov
Public Safety, Department of Edward Davis 919-662-4701 edward.davis@ncdps.gov
DPS-Emergency Mgmt Kevin Kasai 919-825-2275 kevin.kasai@ncdps.gov
DPS-Corrections Enterprises Rhonda Miller 919-324-1451 rhonda.miller@ncdps.gov
DPS-National Guard Matthew Currin   matthew.s.currin.nfg@mail.mil
DPS-Community Corrections Aaron Gallagher 919-324-1121 aaron.gallagher@ncdps.gov
Revenue, Department of Jessica Bain 919-707-7553 jessica.bain@ncdor.gov
Secretary of State, Department of Shannon Simmons 919-814-5322 ssimmons@sosnc.gov
State Auditor, Office of Ashley Price 919-807-7553 ashley_price@ncauditor.net
State Board of Elections Carlos Casallas 919-814-0704 carlos.casallas@ncsbe.gov
State Crime Labortory, Deparment of Dean J. Amatuli Sr 919-582-8843 damatuli@ncdoj.gov
State Treasurer, Department of Stan Edwards 919-814-3838 stanley.edwards@nctreasurer.com
Transportation, Department of Sam Eddy 919-835-8424 sceddy@ncdot.gov
UNC - TV Michael Mills 919-549-7081 mmills@unctv.org
UNC Hospitals Jeff Watson 984-974-4751 michael.watson@unchealth.unc.edu
Wildlife Resources Commission William Bolton 919-707-0094 william.bolton@ncwildlife.org
Universities Fleet Cooridinator Phone Number Email
A & T State University Steven Rogers 336-285-4533 svrogers@ncat.edu
Appalachian State University Robert Smith "Bob" 828-262-3195 smithrl@appstate.edu
Community College System Milton Tart 919-807-7094 tartm@nccommunitycolleges.edu
East Carolina University Steve Harper 252-916-7080 harperst@ecu.edu
Elizabeth City State University Miyoshi Sawyer 252-335-3258 msawyer@ecsu.edu
Fayetteville State University James"Tony"Milone 910-672-1289 jmilone@uncfsu.edu
NC Central University Tyrone Wilson 919-530-5225 tdwilson@nccu.edu
NC School of Science & Mathematics Rick Hess 919-416-2910 hess@ncssm.edu
NC State University Scott Jennings 919-515-9884 stjenni2@ncsu.edu
UNC @ Asheville Pat Berk 828-258-7693 pberk@unca.edu
UNC @ Chapel Hill Mark Stark 919-966-2967 mstark@facilities.unc.edu
UNC @ Charlotte Lee Snodgrass 704-687-0564 nsnodgra@uncc.edu
UNC @ Greensboro Antoinette "Alice" Setari 336-334-4179 aasetari@uncg.edu
UNC @ Pembroke Mark Vesely 910-521-6375 mark.vesely@uncp.edu
UNC @ Wilmington Keith Chamblee 910-962-2270 chambleej@uncw.edu
UNC General Administration Shirl Smith 919 962-3355 sdsmith@northcarolina.edu
University of NC School of the Arts Sherri Campbell 336-770-1476 campbells@uncsa.edu
Western Carolina University Jean Andrei 828-227-7224 andrei@email.wcu.edu
Winston Salem State University Norman Johnson 336-750-8729 johnsonne@wssu.edu

 

Exemption Process

How does the exemption request process work? How long does an approval last?

How does the exemption request process work? How long does an approval last?

Any request for a minimum mileage exemption must be signed by the Agency Head prior to MFM consideration. MFM will review requests weekly. If approved, the exemption will be valid for one year, after which the agency will have to reapply or return the vehicle.

Minimum Mileage Requirements

Why is the minimum mileage requirement being enforced so strictly now? Can our agency really lose assigned vehicles if we do not achieve these?

Why is the minimum mileage requirement being enforced so strictly now? Can our agency really lose assigned vehicles if we do not achieve these?

MFM is required to ensure that all vehicles are used at least 3,150 miles per quarter as directed by G.S. 143-341.(8).i.7a, or be subject to be returned to MFM. The rules have been on the books for a long time. However, ongoing budget considerations require us to be stricter about enforcement. MFM will make every effort to work with agencies to help them achieve required use standards, but those that cannot and do not qualify for an exemption will be required to turn in vehicles.

What are the allowable exemptions to retain a state vehicle that does not meet minimum mileage requirements?

What are the allowable exemptions to retain a state vehicle that does not meet minimum mileage requirements?

Statute allows three specific examples under which an exemption will be considered:

  1. The individual's duties are routinely related to public safety.
  2. The individual's duties are likely to expose the individual routinely to life threatening situations.
  3. An agency can provide a justification for the need of a permanently assigned vehicle because of the unique use of the vehicle. Unique use must include justification as to why reimbursement of an employee for the use of a personal vehicle or the periodic rental from the state's term contract is not reasonable.
Where can I find the new forms associated with minimum mileage use requirements?

Where can I find the new forms associated with minimum mileage use requirements?

All MFM reporting forms are posted in the forms section of our website.

Who can I talk to at Motor Fleet Management about minimum mileage requirement concerns that are specific to our agency’s assigned vehicles?

Who can I talk to at Motor Fleet Management about minimum mileage requirement concerns that are specific to our agency’s assigned vehicles?

To ensure consistency and clarity of responses, please contact Vehicle Assignment Manager Teresa Powell

The MFM phone number is 919-733-6540.

Inquiries also may be submitted via email to MotorFleet.Mailing@doa.nc.gov.

Rental Vehicles

I have a need for a temporary or short term vehicle rental, what are my options?

I have a need for a temporary or short term vehicle rental, what are my options?

You have the option to use your personal vehicle and seek a mileage reimbursement. The state has contracts with Enterprise and Hertz to provide short term rental services. Information on these contracts is available at the Division of Purchase and Contract website here.  

For specialty vehicles, such as handicap vans, Motor Fleet may still be able to assist you. Please contact our office at 919-733-6540.

Will I have to pay for fuel separately when using Enterprise or Hertz?

Will I have to pay for fuel separately when using Enterprise or Hertz?

Yes and if you travel frequently we recommend that you setup a fuel card account with the State's fuel card vendor. Information on fuel card accounts is available on the Division of Purchase and Contract website here.

What information do I need to have to obtain a rental vehicle from Enterprise or Hertz?

What information do I need to have to obtain a rental vehicle from Enterprise or Hertz?

The information will be different for each company.

Hertz - When making reservations, please use the Customer Discount Program (CDP) #2086910.

Enterprise/National - When making reservations, please use Account #XZ53666. 

Vehicle Breakdown / Replacements

We are concerned about high-mileage vehicles breaking down and/or not being replaced when it no longer makes economic sense to invest in repairs. How can we ensure employees that they will have a dependable vehicle to use in conducting state business?

We are concerned about high-mileage vehicles breaking down and/or not being replaced when it no longer makes economic sense to invest in repairs. How can we ensure employees that they will have a dependable vehicle to use in conducting state business?

The MFM Repair Shop has been integrally involved in the development and implementation of the new protocols and is keenly aware of the importance of keeping the fleet running safely. We will make every effort to manage repair requests and our limited supply of exchange vehicles; but it is possible that an exchange vehicle from the state fleet will not be available. Other options to consider include short-term rental from the state Vehicle Rental contract or use of a personal vehicle.