STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING New Education Building, Suite 450, Raleigh, NC

9:30 AM December 7, 2021 **MINUTES**

MEMBERS PRESENT (MS Teams) – Chair Zena Howard, Vice Chair Katherine Lynn (from SCO Conference Room), Ezequiel Acosta, Roger Woods, and Thomas Headlee.

SCO STAFF PRESENT (SCO Conference Room) – Michael J. Shumsky (SCO Director), Michael Ali, Ryan Scruggs, Robert Talley, Aaron Lumpe, LeaAnne Hahnel, and Golnoosh Shakibania.

OTHERS PRESENT (MS Teams) – Kristie Corson (DEQ-DMS), Andrew Meier (DACS), Hany Gorgui (DACS), and Mike Mountcastle (DOT)

OTHERS PRESENT (SCO Conference Room) – James Bernier Jr. (DOJ) and David Crawford (AIA)

SPECIAL GUEST (SCO Conference Room) - Blair Bordeaux

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ETHICS STATEMENT

Vice-Chair Katherine Lynn was present in the State Construction Office Conference Room. There were Four members present via MS Teams: Chair Zena Howard, Ezequiel Acosta, Roger Woods, and Thomas Headlee.

Chair Zena Howard called the meeting to order at 9:35 AM and read the ethics statement.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (October 26, 2021)

Katherine Lynn made a motion to approve the October 26, 2021 Minutes. Roger Woods seconded the motion. 5= AYE Votes (Chair Zena Howard, Vice Chair Katherine Lynn, Ezequiel Acosta, Roger Woods, and Thomas Headlee) 0 = NAY Votes 0 = Abstain

3. EMERGENCY DECLARATION LETTER

Michael J. Shumsky presented one emergency declaration. UNC-Chapel Hill: Koury Oral Sciences Building – Waterproofing & Slab Repair

4. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Griffin Animal Laboratory - HVAC Upgrades & Repairs Union County, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. RMF Engineering, Inc, P.C. (Charlotte, NC)
- 2. Salas O'Brien North Carolina, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. CMTA of Kentucky, Inc. (Charlotte, NC)

Katherine Lynn made a motion to approve, and Thomas Headlee seconded the motion.

4 = AYE Votes (Chair Zena Howard, Vice Chair Katherine Lynn, Ezequiel Acosta, and Thomas Headlee) 0 = NAY Votes

1 = Abstain (Roger Woods)

5. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Public Safety Anson Correctional Institute – Roof Repairs Polkton, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

- 1. Raymond Engineering-Georgia, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. Atlas Engineering, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. Fleming & Associates, PA (Fayetteville, NC)

Katherine Lynn made a motion to approve, and Thomas Headlee seconded the motion.

5 = AYE Votes (Chair Zena Howard, Vice Chair Katherine Lynn, Ezequiel Acosta, Roger Woods, and Thomas Headlee) 0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

6. SELECTION OF THREE (3) DESIGN FIRMS

Department of Environmental Quality Division of Mitigation Services 2021 On-Call Design Services Statewide, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended for the 2021 On-Call Design Services.

- 1. KCI Associates of North Carolina, P. A. (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. Michael Baker Engineering, Inc. (Cary, NC)
- 3. Ecosystem Planning and Restoration, PLLC (Cary, NC)

Roger Woods made a motion to approve, and Katherine Lynn seconded the motion.

5 = AYE Votes (Chair Zena Howard, Vice Chair Katherine Lynn, Ezequiel Acosta, Roger Woods, and Thomas Headlee) 0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

7. SELECTION OF CONSTRUCTION MANAGER AT RISK FIRM

Department of Transportation Rail Division Charlotte Locomotive & Railcar Maintenance Facility – Phase II Mecklenburg County, NC

Aaron Lumpe presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. New Atlantic Contracting, Inc. (Winston-Salem, NC)
- 2. Edison Foard, Inc. (Charlotte, NC)
- 3. Clancy & Theys Construction Co. (Charlotte, NC)

Roger Woods made a motion to approve, and Thomas Headlee seconded the motion.

5 = AYE Votes (Chair Zena Howard, Vice Chair Katherine Lynn, Ezequiel Acosta, Roger Woods, and Thomas Headlee) 0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

8. INNOVATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE UPDATE

Michael J. Shumsky provided an update:

The next Innovations Subcommittee will be held on December 8, 2021, and the agenda has been received. The subcommittee is working on multiple items including some discussion on the state budget, construction costs, and budget implications. Betsy Bailey will talk about Design Build.

9. OLD BUSINESS

None.

10. NEW BUSINESS

None.

11. STATE CONSTRUCTION OFFICE REPORT

Michael J. Shumsky provided updates for SCO.

The 41st annual State Construction conference will be held on Thursday, March 3, 2022 at the NCSU McKimmon Center and will be a hybrid conference, in person with a virtual option. The registration fees will remain the same. Mr. Kenneth Simonson, the chief economist from AGC of Americas, will give a speech.

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

The state budget: approved budget certifications are pending, and within Senate Bill 105, there are a million dollars allocated to the state construction office for salary recruitment and retention. Also, as part of that bill, there is an expectation for the development of a capital projects management unit consisting of four full-time equivalents and we're in the process of working on that.

Michael Ali provided an update:

Design Review: They remain busy. They are lightening-up a little bit as we near the end of the holiday push.

Facility Conditions Assessment Program: FCAP remains on schedule. They're expecting Moore and Mecklenburg counties this month. They also issued their yearly report for OSBM, this is a report of our five-year cycle total dollars associated with the FCAP program. Total deficiencies are right over \$6 Billion.

Construction Management: They continue to experience delays and are seeing an increase in claims, particularly related to extended general conditions.

Consulting Services Section: Bob Talley provided a brief update for HVAC equipment.

LeaAnne Hahnel provided some updates for Interscope, they are working on implementing sort of Senate Bill 105.

12. SCHEDULED NEXT MEETING

➤ January 25, 2022

13. ADJOURNMENT

Thomas Headlee made a motion to adjourn. Roger Woods seconded the motion.

Chair Zena Howard adjourned the meeting at 9:56 AM.

5= AYE Votes (Chair Zena Howard, Vice Chair Katherine Lynn, Ezequiel Acosta, Roger Woods, and Thomas Headlee) 0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain