STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

9:30 AM June 22, 2021 MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT (MS Teams) - Chair Raynor Smith (from SCO Conference Room), Vice Chair Zena Howard, Katherine Lynn, Thomas Headlee, Sam Isham, Roger Woods, Kirby Robinson, and Blair Bordeaux (Joined during Agenda Item #4)

SCO STAFF PRESENT (SCO Conference Room) - Latif Kaid, Ryan Scruggs, Robert Talley, Ralph Taylor, Michael Ali, Aaron Lumpe, and Golnoosh Shakibania

OTHERS PRESENT (MS Teams) - Gary Teague (DOJ)

SPECIAL GUESTS (SCO Conference Room) - Tammie Hall (DOA- HUB Office), Johnny Wood (Dewberry Engineers Inc.)

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ETHICS STATEMENT

Chair Raynor Smith was present in the State Construction Office Conference Room.

There were Six members present via MS Teams: Vice Chair Zena Howard, Katherine Lynn, Thomas Headlee, Sam Isham, Roger Woods, and Kirby Robinson.

Chair Raynor Smith called the meeting to order at 9:32 AM and read the ethics statement.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (April 27, 2021)

Thomas Headlee made a motion to approve the April 27, 2021 minutes. Vice Chair Zena Howard seconded the motion. 7 = AYE Votes (Chair Raynor Smith, Vice Chair Zena Howard, Katherine Lynn, Thomas Headlee, Sam Isham, Roger Woods, and Kirby Robinson)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

3. EMERGENCY DECLARATION LETTER

Latif Kaid presented one emergency declaration.

Department of Natural and Cultural Resources: Governor Charles B. Aycock Birthplace Historic Site – Fire Alarm System Replacement

4. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Administration

State Records Building – Air Handling Units Replacement

Raleigh, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Dewberry Engineers Inc. (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. Sigma Engineered Solutions, P.C. (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. Edmondson Engineers, PA (Durham, NC)

Roger Woods made a motion to approve. Thomas Headlee seconded the motion.

8 = AYE Votes (Chair Raynor Smith, Vice Chair Zena Howard, Katherine Lynn, Thomas Headlee, Sam Isham, Roger Woods, Kirby Robinson, and Blair Bordeaux)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

5. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Public Safety

National Guard

Fayetteville FMS 11 Authorized Stockage List (ASL)

Cumberland County, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

- 1. CEMS Engineering Inc. (Wilmington, NC)
- 2. LS3P Associates, LTD. (Raleigh, NC)
- 3. Smith Sinnett Architecture, P.A. (Raleigh, NC)

Katherine Lynn made a motion to approve. Kirby Robinson seconded the motion.

8 = AYE Votes (Chair Raynor Smith, Vice Chair Zena Howard, Katherine Lynn, Thomas Headlee, Sam Isham, Roger Woods, Kirby Robinson, and Blair Bordeaux)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

6. INNOVATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE UPDATE

Latif Kaid provided an update of activities completed by the subcommittee.

- Design-Build Legislation: The Legislation is pending and it is expected to pass.
- Delegated Design Authority: Three items have been added to the list and the revised list will be posted on the SCO website soon.
- Digital Conversion of Business Documents: Complete pending electronic bidding. Expected to be fully active by 8/1/2021.
- Prequalification: Pending SBC Review and Resolution of Final Comments. Revisions should be ready for a final vote at the next SBC meeting.

7. OLD BUSINESS

HUB Office Update: Ms. Tammie Hall (DOA), was a guest and provided a brief presentation of HUB Office activities entitled "Creating A Thriving HUB Program."

8. NEW BUSINESS

- Nomination of New Chair with Term to Begin on July 1, 2021: Chair Raynor Smith nominated Zena Howard as the new Chair for 2021-2022.

Blair Bordeaux made a motion to approve. Thomas Headlee seconded the motion.

8 = AYE Votes (Chair Raynor Smith, Vice Chair Zena Howard, Katherine Lynn, Thomas Headlee, Sam Isham, Roger Woods, Kirby Robinson, and Blair Bordeaux)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain

 Create Subcommittee to Nominate a New Vice Chair for 2021-2022: Chair Raynor Smith volunteered to lead the subcommittee.

9. STATE CONSTRUCTION OFFICE REPORT

Latif Kaid provided updates for SCO.

- SCO Workload has increased over the last several months but remains manageable.
- House Bill 804 was filed on 5/3/2021 and was referred to the Committee on Insurance on 5/4/2021. HB804 proposed to
 AMEND THE AUTHORITY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AND THE DEPARTMENT OF
 ADMINISTRATION TO INSPECT STATE-OWNED BUILDINGS AND PROPERTIES AND TO REQUIRE FIRE
 PROTECTION INSPECTIONS BY THE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE.
- The 40th Annual State Construction Conference will be held virtually on Thursday June 24, 2021.

10. SCHEDULED NEXT MEETING

> July 20, 2021

11. ADJOURNMENT

Roger Woods made a motion to adjourn. Blair Bordeaux seconded the motion.

Chair Raynor Smith adjourned the meeting at 10:19 AM.

8 = AYE Votes (Chair Raynor Smith, Vice Chair Zena Howard, Katherine Lynn, Thomas Headlee, Sam Isham, Roger Woods, Kirby Robinson, and Blair Bordeaux)

0 = NAY Votes

0 = Abstain