Agenda Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission January 13, 2017

<u>Large Conference Room, Room 3106T-2, 3rd Floor, Department of Administration</u> <u>Building</u>

116 West Jones Street, Raleigh, NC

Present: Commissioner Jeffers, Futrell, Partee, Bailey, Henderson, Dudley, Stowe,

Jarvis Jones, Smith, Ealy, Posev

Absent: Commissioners Turner, Sturdivant, Freeman, Harshaw

Brit Cobb, Acting Secretary DOA, Phillip, Jordan, Justice Paul Newby, Judy Jeffers Deputy Secretary of DOA

Welcome- Acting Department of Administration Secretary Britt Cobb
Call to Order- Chairman Henderson 9:11am
Invocation Commissioner Futrell
Pledge of Allegiance- All
Roll Call Chairman Henderson
Swearing in of New Commissioners Candace Dudley, Franklin Stowe II by Justice Paul
Newby

Minutes of Last Meeting- motioned by Commissioner Smith, seconded by Commissioner Partee that minutes be Approved for December 1 & July 28, 2016.

Recognition of FY 2017 MLK Grantees and Award of Certificates

- Berean Community Center, Inc.
- First Calvary Baptist Church
- Durham Community MLK Jr. Steering Committee, Inc.

Let Freedom Ring Bell Ringing Ceremony, Bicentennial Plaza State Employees Martin Luther King, Jr. Observance Program and John R. Larkins Award Ceremony Adjournment to Bell Ringing Ceremony