§ 143B-426.34B. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission – members; selection; quorum; compensation.

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission of the Department of Administration shall (a) consist of 16 members. The Governor shall appoint 12 members, one of whom he shall designate as the chair of the Commission. The Governor shall make reasonable efforts to assure that his appointees are equally distributed geographically throughout the State. The President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall appoint two members and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint two members. The terms of four of the members appointed by the Governor shall expire June 30, 1997. The terms of four of the members appointed by the Governor shall expire June 30, 1996. The terms of four of the members appointed by the Governor shall expire June 30, 1994. The terms of the members appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall expire June 30, 1995. At the end of the respective terms of office of the initial members of the Commission, the appointment of their successors shall be for terms of four years. No member of the Commission shall serve more than two consecutive terms. A member having served two consecutive terms shall be eligible for reappointment one year after the expiration of the second term. A member who fails to attend any three meetings of the Commission shall be dismissed automatically from the Commission upon failure to attend the third such meeting. Provided, however, that the Commission may, by majority vote, reinstate any such dismissed member for the remainder of the unexpired term for good cause shown for failing to attend the meetings. Vacancies shall be filled by the appointing officer for the unexpired term.

(b) A majority of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

(c) Members of the Commission shall be compensated for their services as authorized by G.S. 138-5. Members of the Commission who are State officials or employees shall be reimbursed as authorized by G.S. 138-6.

(d) The Department of Administration shall provide necessary clerical and administrative support services to the Commission. (1993, c. 502.)