Martin Luther King, Jr. Commission Members by Region

The Commission works to encourage appropriate ceremonies and activities throughout the State relating to the observance of the legal holiday honoring Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday. It also works to promote among the people of NC an awareness and appreciation of the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

MLK, Jr. Commission Members
Commissioner City County Appointed
Lucy H.F. Dinner Raleigh Wake Governor
Emanual Ealy Charlotte Mecklenburg Senate Pro-Tem
Elton Futrell Durham Durham Governor
Dumas Harshaw Raleigh Wake Governor
Jamilla Hawkins Tarboro Edgecombe Governor
Ann Huggins Greenville Pitt Governor
Immanuel Jarvis Durham Durham Governor
Jacquie Jeffers Wilson Wilson Governor
Larry Jones Warrenton Warren Governor
Howard Morgan Sedalia Guilford Speaker of the House
Kiana Rivers Durham Pasquotank Governor
Walter Rogers Laurel Hill Scotland Governor
Phillip Smith Cary Wake Governor
Carolyn Stroud Cary Wake Speaker of the House
Rev. James WhiteRev. James White Cary Wake Governor