Youth Council Executive Board

2021-2022 State Youth Council Executive Board

We're proud to introduce the 2021-2022 State Youth Council (SYC) Executive Board. These students, chosen by their peers, are excited about the new year and the great things the youth of the state will be doing.

Chair – Amaya Williams (Cary Teen Council)

Amaya Williams is apart of the Cary Teen Council in Wake County. She currently attends Raleigh Charter High School and is a senior. In her free time Amaya likes to do cheerleading and reading a new book.

Here is why Amaya chose to join State Youth Council: SYC is Transforming. I joined Cary Teen Council as a 6th grader and have since served many volunteer hours. As a member of the SYC Executive Board I have been able to transform my leadership skills to the next level. As Secretary, the Executive Board counted on me to maintain minutes, and I ensured I honored my commitment to fill my role. This position gave me the confidence to run for Regional Logistics Chair of Jack and Jill. I excelled and they shared I showed poise working with adults. It was the talents I developed as secretary that allowed me the confidence to serve with the dedication needed to put on a seamless event.



Vice Chair – Olivia Cody (Fayetteville Cumberland Youth Council)

Olivia Cody is apart of the Fayetteville Cumberland Youth Council in Cumberland County. Where she attends school is to be determined, she is a junior. In her free time Olivia likes to read and bake!

Here is why Olivia chose to join State Youth Council: State Youth Council represents an unique opportunity to make a genuine change in your own community.



Secretary – Asmita Malakar (Cary Teen Council)

Asmita Malakar is current member of the Cary Teen Council in Wake County. She currently attends Green Hope High School and is a junior. In her free time Asmita like to sketch cartoons and watch the latest tech shows!

Here is why Asmita chose to join State Youth Council: For me, the State Youth Council is a place where I can a find a voice in my community and among those who have different ideas and beliefs but the same goals as me.



Sergeant at Arms – Savannah Goveia (Lake Norman Teen Council)

Savannah Goveia is apart of the Lake Norman Teen Council in Mecklenburg County. She currently attends Woodlawn School and is a junior. In her free time Savannah enjoys playing the piano and she is also an elite diver, which she spends her time either practicing, conditioning or at meets across the country.

Here is why Savannah chose to join State Youth Council: SYC means a chance to have a voice in local policy and be able to provide a voice for the youth within the state. It gives me a chance to advocate for policies that I am passionate about and would like to eventually implement.